Exploring Handbells Book 2

Themes & Variations



Exploring Handbells Book 2 By Betty B. Radford is a follow-up to Exploring Handbells Book 1.  The music in this publication will use the technical requirements from Book 1.  Book 1 provides music for ringing, damping, vibrato, let vibrate (LV), shake (Sk), staccato, martellato, and tower swing.  Exploring Handbells Book 2 proceeds to the next level of techniques that ringers will encounter in handbell music.

The music in this collection is written for two and three octave ringing ensembles ranging from level 1 - 2.  This collection features all original compositions other than the Huron Carol, which is an arrangement.  These pieces were created as companion pieces, e.g. Siamese Cats and Calico Cats,  based on the same music but written in different keys to enable the best result for an individual two octave and three octave ensemble.  Since there are no tempo markings, the director may choose a tempo that best works for his/her ensemble.  The music is this collection may be played on either handbells or handchimes, though not all techniques are applicable for handchimes.  Many of the pieces will feature several techniques from Exploring Handbells Book 1 as well as those featured in this collection.

Resource Index



  • Ring, Damp, Shake, Voice Leading
  • Echo
  • Ring Touch, Hand Damp
  • Adding a Third Handbell
  • Table Land Damp
  • Martello Lift
  • Mallet Roll on Table
  • Suspended Mallet, Gyro
  • Singing Bell
  • Weaving


Materials Included

Print Book + Download Edition - $40
- Printed Book
- Digital Book PDF
Download Edition- $35
- Digital Book PDF

To get your download edition, add this product to your cart. After you go through the checkout process, a download link will appear on the final page. You will also receive an email with a link to your download. If you purchased a printed book you will see a 7-digit alpha-numerical code in your product. Use this code to access your downloads at https://downloads.musicplay.ca


Book: Exploring Handbells Book 2