Listening Fun

Themes & Variations


Listening Fun provides Active Listening Activities for Grade 1-6 students using scarves, tennis balls and movement.

  • introduction with many helpful suggestions for teachers
  • teacher's guide with student reproducibles, lesson plans and movement instructions
  • lesson plans with objectives, assessment strategies and alignment to national standards
  • reproducible biographies of the composers that are represented in this kit
  • movement activities using scarves and tennis balls
  • guides-at-a-glance for use to avoid holding long written out sheets when teaching
  • Digital Resources with PowerPoint, videos of routines, composer biographies and lesson information
  • Audio of all music used within this guide & videos with all routines within this guide

Resource Index

  • “In the Hall of the Mountain King,” from Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, op. 46 by Edvard Grieg (movement or tennis balls)
  • “Bydlo,” from Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Mussorgsky (scarves)
  • “Wedding March,” from A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Felix Mendelssohn (tennis balls)
  • “Morning,” from Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, op. 46 by Edvard Grieg (scarves)
  • Gigue, from Amadis de Gaule by Johann Christian Bach (tennis balls)
  • Badinerie, from Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor , BMV 1067by Johann Sebastian Bach (scarves)
  • Prelude, from Holberg Suite, op. 40 by Edvard Grieg (tennis balls)
  • “The Great Gate of Kiev,” from Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Mussorgsky
  • “Promenade,” from Pictures at an Exhibition by Modest Mussorgsky (scarves)
  • Hornpipe, from Water Music Suite in F Major by George Frideric Handel (scarves)
  • Gavotte, from Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major, BMV 1068 by J.S. Bach (tennis balls)

Each movement routine comes with:

  • a lesson plan detailing how to approach teaching the specific concept addressed in the music
  • an expanded movement guide giving step by step instructions on how to perform each move
  • a one page Guide-at-a-Glance with timings for quick reference in class
  • a biography of the composer and information about the piece
  • a video of the routine
  • audio of the piece used
  • a PowerPoint presentation highlighting major concepts


Materials Included

In the printed product:
- Printed Book
- Digital Book PDF
- Audio MP3
- Projectable PDF
- PowerPoint
- Videos
In the download edition:

- Digital Book PDF
- Audio MP3
- Projectable PDF
- PowerPoint
- Videos

To get your download edition, add this product to your cart. After you go through the checkout process, a download link will appear on the final page. You will also receive an email with a link to your download. If you purchased a printed book you will see a 7-digit alpha-numerical code in your product. Use this code to access your downloads at


Audio: Gigue
Audio: Great Gate Kiev
Book: Listening Fun