The Seasons

Themes & Variations

SKU: C52

The Seasons by Craig Cassils and Cheryl Heuser is a song cycle - 5 art songs for children. The lyrics are poetry, evoking images and feelings. The music is witty, clever and very beautiful. The Jubilate Children’s Chorus has done an exceptional job on this CD. The CD is a wonderful example of what an excellent quality children’s choir should sound like. The CD is performance only. (It would be extremely difficult for a choir to sing with a recorded accompaniment.  The piano accompaniments for these songs are included.)

This collection is written to be used by classroom teachers as an integrated unit involving many subjects. It is also geared toward a gala evening to which parents could be invited. Not only would the evening include a presentation of songs and poems, but Aesop’s fables could be acted out, artwork could be displayed, Science or Social Studies research or trivia could be presented, and some simple Science fair boards and little student-created books could be displayed. This format would be excellent for an open house event and the ‘performance pressure’ would not be concentrated on a single musical event or the arts only. Also, many children could be involved and a multiple intelligences approach would be evident. The materials are presented thematically, not according to grade level. This resource is intended as an idea springboard and must be shared by teachers from a variety of grade levels.

Resource Index

  • Seasons
  • Snowflake
  • Water
  • Mist
  • Wind


Materials Included

Print Book + Download Edition - $20
- Printed Book
- Digital Book PDF
- Audio MP3
Download Edition - $18
- Digital Book PDF
- Audio MP3

To get your download edition, add this product to your cart. After you go through the checkout process, a download link will appear on the final page. You will also receive an email with a link to your download. If you purchased a printed book you will see a 7-digit alpha-numerical code in your product. Use this code to access your downloads at


Audio: Snowflake
Audio: Wind
Book: The Seasons